New Boundaries For Twin Falls County


By Jay Michaels

Twin Falls, Idaho ( KMVT-TV / KTWT-TV ) Twin Falls County has new boundaries… At least on the inside.

Idaho state law requires the county to have all 74,000 of its residents equally represented by the county commissioners. The commissioners and county clerk began with the 2010 Census numbers, redrew the voting precincts, and then balanced the three commissioner districts.

Twin Falls County Clerk Kristina Glascock says, "We had to change them to follow precinct boundaries from the legislative changes that we made in 2012 with redistricting. So we made some substantial changes so that those commissioner district boundaries would follow precinct boundaries."

Twin Falls County is divided into three commissioner's districts: East Twin Falls County, West Twin Falls County, and the City of Twin Falls.

Twin Falls County Commissioner Terry Kramer says,"Some of the outlying areas, Murtaugh on the East End and Buhl and Castleford on the West End, had to take in a few of those precincts to create an equal balance."

The 44 voting precincts in Twin Falls County have to have equal numbers of people, as do the three commissioners' districts. The commissioners and county clerk have to follow notable lines like highways and streets to draw the boundaries.

Glascock says, "By law we have to do this every two years, but where we only have the census every ten years, it's hard to do unless we've got some good census data, to divide the county in into three commissioner districts based on population."

Glascock told us the three districts cover basically the same area as before, but they now follow the revised voter's precinct boundaries.

January 6, 2014.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

KMVT Breaking News Alerts

Morning & Afternoon News Updates