Marsy’s Law campaign names chairmen for Idaho counties

By  | 

BOISE, Idaho (News Release) – Marsy’s Law for Idaho is announcing that it’s campaign to establish equal rights for crime victims now has the leadership and commitment from a diverse group of leaders in every county across the state.

The campaign announced Thursday that it has 44 county chairs on board to help build grassroots support for the proposed constitutional amendment. The roster of local-level chairmen includes crime victims, victim advocates, law enforcement leaders, ranchers and college students.

“Marsy’s Law for Idaho is focused on helping crime victims in every corner of the state,” said Rep. Brent Crane, a Republican from Nampa. “We’re pleased to have on-the-ground leaders fanned out statewide and engaged with friends and neighbors on the importance of taking victims’ rights to the next level. This really just adds to the momentum of a campaign that has won the support of law enforcement, legislators and victim advocates.”

Marsy’s Law for Idaho has been endorsed by the Idaho Sheriff’s Association, the Fraternal Order of Police, legislative leaders, the Idaho Council on Domestic Violence and Victim Assistance, the Idaho Victim Witness Coordinators Association and other nongovernment victim advocacy organizations.

Written by Idahoans for the state’s specific needs, Marsy’s Law would update and build upon the Victims’ Rights Amendment approved by voters in 1994. The version to be introduced in the 2018 Legislature would require victim notification in cases when an offender escapes or absconds probation and parole, give victims the right to confer with prosecutors and put victims’ rights to equal footing with those granted defendants.

Last month, Marsy’s Law for Idaho released the findings of an economic analysis focused on potential costs of implementing the law. Researchers determined the cost would be minimal, estimating the total could reach $553,000 annually. But they also concluded costs would likely be much lower as local government found ways to share resources.

“I’d like to thank those who are volunteering their time and energy on behalf of Idaho crime victims,” said Sen. Todd Lakey, R-Nampa, and legislative champion of the campaign. “Their involvement provides another layer of support at the ground level by individuals who know their communities and are personally committed to protecting and strengthening victim’s rights.


Marsy’s Law for Idaho is the Idaho chapter of the national advocacy group Marsy’s Law for All, which is dedicated to strengthening victims’ rights. The goal of Marsy’s Law for Idaho is to ensure the right of victims to have an effective voice in the criminal justice process. Victims are the individuals most harmed by crime and are sometimes an afterthought in our system— even though some rights are currently afforded through Idaho’s constitution and statute. A proposed constitutional amendment for victims' rights, written by and for Idahoans, would not place any significant burden on state employees or those providing victim service support using state funds. Idaho once led the nation on victims’ rights. It was one of the first states to provide rights for crime victims. In November 1994, a state Constitutional Amendment on Victims’ Rights overwhelmingly passed with 79% of the vote. Over twenty years have passed, and more work needs to be done. In 2016, the Idaho Attorney General argued before the Idaho Supreme Court that neither the Idaho Constitution nor Idaho Statutes provided a mechanism to enforce victims’ rights (Mitchell V. State 160 Idaho 81 (2016)). It’s time for victims’ rights to be increased and strengthened in the Idaho Constitution, so Idaho can lead the nation once again.

The list of county chairs for Marsy’s Law for Idaho include:

Ada – Natalie Marti, Savahna Egbert
Adams – Andrea Yoakum
Bannock – Becky Rodriquez
Bear Lake – Sen. Mark Harris
Benewah – Sheriff Dave Resser
Bingham – Susan Nalley
Blaine – Sarah Busden
Boise – Sheriff Jim Kazmarek
Bonner – Charlene Matheson
Bonneville – Coroner Rick Taylor
Boundary – Sheriff Dave Kramer
Butte – Hootie Langseth
Camas – Sheriff Dave Sanders
Canyon – Sylvia Flores, Aleshea Boals
Caribou – Sheriff Kelly Wells
Cassia – Kade Craner
Clark – Richard Savage
Clearwater – Sheriff Chris Goetz
Custer – Sheriff Stu Lumpkin
Elmore – Kathleen Schipani
Franklin – Theodora Petterborg
Fremont – Sheriff Len Humphries
Gem – Coroner John Buck
Gooding – Chandi Hall
Idaho – Coroner Cody Funke
Jefferson – Richard Savage
Jerome – Laurie Lickley
Kootenai – Craig Smith
Latah – Zoe Cooley, Lauren Busden
Lemhi – Sheila Dodd
Lewis – Rebecca Crea
Lincoln – Rebecca Wood
Madison – Koty Cook
Minidoka – Jeremy Anderson
Nez Perce – Sheriff Joe Rodriquez
Oneida – Coroner Brad Horsley
Owyhee – Sheriff Perry Grant
Payette – Megan Waddell
Power – Sheriff Jim Jeffries
Shoshone – Lee Haynes
Teton – Becky Clayton
Twin Falls – Mya Goodman
Valley – Coroner Scott Carver
Washington – Coroner Bowe Van Brethorst

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus