Buhl, Kimberly basketball players take top SCIC honors

Published: Mar. 5, 2019 at 3:11 PM MST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Emily Gorrell is the SCIC Girls Basketball Player of the Year, while Dan Hill is the 2019 SCIC Girls Basketball Coach of the Year, for the first time in his career.

They helped the Buhl Indians overcome a poor regular season to earn a berth to the 3A state playoffs. Buhl went from 0-6 in conference play to 3-3 in the playoffs. When the Indians started winning, Gorrell's scoring output also increased. She averaged 14 points in the regular season to 19 in postseason play. The senior Indian also produced six rebounds a game. Gorrell made the 3A state tournament team.

First Team:

Grace Parker- Gooding

Laken Wolf- Gooding

Josie Schmitz- Kimberly

Kori Gartner- Filer

Ella Fisher- Filer

Second Team:

Demee Rosenkrance- Kimberly

Meg Walker- Kimberly

Kyra Azevedo- Buhl

McKenna Lively- Buhl

Riley Comstock- Gooding

Meanwhile, Dawson Cummins of Kimberly boys hoops is the Player of the Year and Daren Garey is the Coach of the Year. The junior averaged 15.2 points and 3.1 rebounds per game for a Bulldogs team that took third place last weekend at state. Garey has earned this award for the second time.

First Team:

Adam Lauda- Buhl

Braxton Hammond- Kimberly

Peyton Bair- Kimberly

Kaden Perron- Filer

Cayden Loveland- Gooding

Second Team:

Carter Kelsey- Buhl

Mayson Martinez- Filer

Ethan Dionne- Filer

Tristyn O’Donnell- Kimberly

Brant Etherington- Kimberly

Latest News

Latest News