Dietrich's Shaw named MVP, Carey Panthers earn top conference honors

TWIN FALLS, Idaho ( KMVT / KSVT ) An eventful weekend in Middleton led to Carey Football picking up its sixth state championship. The Panthers are members of the Sawtooth West Conference.

Coaches just gathered their picks for the all-conference teams.

Coach of the Year- Lane Kirkland- Carey

This year's MVP is Kade Shaw of Dietrich. The senior Blue Devil made 25 catches for 585 yards and ran the ball 70 times for 755 yards. He produced a total of 24 touchdowns. On defense, he had 10 interceptions and 70 tackles.

Houston Hennefer is the Offensive Player of the Year. The Carey senior completed 94 passes for 1,886 yards in 12 games. He carried the ball 62 times for 372 yards. Credit him with 10 rushing TD's and seven rushing conversions. Hennefer passed for 24 touchdowns and 22 conversions.

For the first team, there is quarterback Connor Holloway of Lighthouse.

2nd team QB Houston Hennefer- Carey

Tight ends we have Carey's Kaden Koudelka and Tanner Mecham, plus Remington Kramer of Camas.

2nd team Tight End: Jordan Bradshaw- Lighthouse, Gio Zavala- Murtaugh and Carter Schilder- Castleford

Running backs, it's Shaw, Carey's Hilario Ruiz and Porter Mecham.

2nd team RB: Erik Robles- Camas, Raygn Robertson- Dietrich, Justin Wood- Richfield

Carey's Trevor Kirkland is the first-team center.

2nd team Center Cooper Dastrup- Lighthouse

And for offensive linemen, Justin Scarrow from Lighthouse, Lon Page of Dietrich and Carey's Raymond Peck.

2nd team OL: Shane Van Tassel- Dietrich, Adrian Dekruyf- Castleford and Nate Thomas- Murtaugh

The Defensive Player of the Year is another Panther, DJ Parke. The linebacker appeared in 11 games, making 122 tackles, 12 sacks and 20 tackles for loss.

Other linebackers honored for first-team recognition, Porter Mecham and Kramer again. Then there's Raygn Robertson of Dietrich.

2nd team LB: Hunter Anderson- Murtaugh, Brandon Butler- Lighthouse, Graden Dimond- Murtaugh and Tanner Mecham- Carey

Defensive ends look like Justin Wood of Richfield, Dietrich's Page and Cooper Dastrup of Lighthouse.

2nd team DE: Dallin Parke - Carey, Keegan Myers - Castleford and Kiel Setoki - Murtaugh

Shaw and Koudelka are honored for their work as safeties.

2nd team Safety: Hilario Ruiz- Carey and Carter Schilder- Castleford

Scarrow is also honored as a first-team defensive lineman. Then there's Carey's Hayden Wayment.

2nd team DL: Nathan Green- Lighthouse and Omar Morales- Carey

Wood makes the rounds again for his abilities as the Tigers' kicker and punter.

2nd team Kicker Kade Setoki- Murtaugh

2nd team Punter Hayden Wayment- Carey

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus