Gooding Football players take top honors in the SCIC

GOODING, Idaho ( KMVT / KSVT ) Gooding Football sweeps the SCIC all-conference awards as a pair of brothers take the top honors. Cameron Andersen is the SCIC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in the past five years.

This after leading the Senators to a third place finish after falling to Snake River in last weekend's 3A state semi-final game.

Quarterback Shane Jennings is the Offensive Player of the Year. Just a sophomore, he threw for 2,173 yards, 29 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He also ran for 1,080 yards and 14 touchdowns on 166 carries.

Joining him on the first team, quarterback Dawson Cummins of Kimberly.

Second Team: Austin Azevedo of Buhl

For receivers, we have Cayden Loveland and Cade Morris of Gooding, followed by Blake Phillips from Kimberly.

Second Team: Roy Newberry of Buhl and Shawn Pamplona from Gooding.

For running backs we have McKade Huft of Kimberly, Josh Hughes of Filer and Mike Needham from Gooding.

Second Team: Garrett Montgomery of Buhl

Representing the offensive line, Gooding's Andrew Carter, Colton Adkinson and Gavino Gaspar. Kimberly has Collin Glass and Noah Heath.

Second Team: Jaylen Staker- Kimberly, Cade Ackerman- Filer, Austin Laughlin- Kimberly, Felipe Esclante- Buhl, Paul Inglin- Gooding

The punter is Jabe Bennett from Buhl.

Now Shane's older brother Ruger is the Defensive Player of the Year. For the season, Ruger recorded 133 tackles, 28 tackles for a loss and four sacks. In the semi-final game against Snake River, he had 24 tackles.

The last time Gooding featured both players of the year, 2015 with Wyatt Williams and Jed Pierson.

For defensive linemen, we have Jake McGinnis of Gooding and both Carter and Glass are recognized once again.

Second Team: Skyler Borrayo- Filer, Theron Christensen- Buhl, Gustavo Cervantes- Buhl, Dain Chance- Gooding, Hunter Klimes- Kimberly

Making the first-team honorable mention due to injury, Taylor Holcomb of Kimberly.

Linebackers are represented by Austin Azevedo of Buhl, Gooding's Brayden Roe and Morris once again, Kimberly has AJ Garrell and Alan Palmer.

Gooding's Sam Funkhouser who committed to Idaho State is listed as a first-team honorable mention injury.

Second Team: Josh Hughes- Filer, Marco Oviedo- Buhl, Jayden Mullins- Gooding

For defensive backs we have Garrett Montgomery of Buhl, Anthony Novis from Gooding and Phillips is mentioned again from Kimberly.

Second Team: Joe Barnes- Filer, Cody Faulkner- Gooding, Cayden Loveland- Gooding

The kicker is Bennett who is already mentioned.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus