Minico dominant on home wrestling mat

By  | 

RUPERT, Idaho (KMVT/KSVT) The Minico Spartans led the field winning the team title with 248.5 points in the Red Halversion Memorial Wrestling Invitational.

The Spartans finished 60.5 points ahead of second place finisher Highland.

Three Spartans earned first place finishes: in the 132 Dallas Andrade, in the 152 Brian Borden and in the 160 pound title class Anthony Rawson.

Rawson won in a come-back against Ezekial Williamson of Jerome. Both wrestlers with just two losses on the season. Rawson took the 3 to 2 decision.

The win secured Rawson the most outstanding upper-weight-class wrestler for the tournament.

Teammate Brian Borden had a very well fought tournament not allowing any of his 152 pound opponents to earn a point.

Other local Magic Valley wrestlers to finish with first place medals were Kase Mauger of Twin Falls in the 106 pound class and Jerome’s Jakob Murillo in the 145.

A list of weight classes with Magic Valley wrestlers finishing in the top three can be found below:

1st Place – Kase Mauger of Twin Falls
2nd Place – Gabriel Toboa of Jerome
3rd Place – Avery Stimpson of Minico
1st Place Match
Kase Mauger (Twin Falls) 32–1, So. over Gabriel Toboa (Jerome) 28–8, Fr. (Dec 7–4)

1st Place – Destin Summers of Snake River
2nd Place – Zak Allred of Minico
1st Place Match
Destin Summers (Snake River) 35–3, Jr. over Zak Allred (Minico) 25–6, Jr. (Fall 3:56)

1st Place – Dallas Andrade of Minico
2nd Place – Dekker Anderson of Highland
3rd Place – Braeden Dickinson of Canyon Ridge
1st Place Match
Dallas Andrade (Minico) 34–1, Sr. over Dekker Anderson (Highland) 37–6, Sr. (Dec 3–2)

1st Place – Jakob Murillo of Jerome
2nd Place – Cooper French of Bonneville
1st Place Match
Jakob Murillo (Jerome) 23–8, Jr. over Cooper French (Bonneville) 29–8, Jr. (SV–1 6–4)

1st Place – Brian Borden of Minico
2nd Place – Austin Burrell of Madison
3rd Place – Caden Cobb of Kuna
1st Place Match
Brian Borden (Minico) 33–2, Sr. over Austin Burrell (Madison) 16–4, Sr. (TF–1.5 5:47 (16–0))

1st Place – Anthony Rawson of Minico
2nd Place – Ezekial Williamson of Jerome
3rd Place – Devin Smith of Madison
1st Place Match
Anthony Rawson (Minico) 33–2, Sr. over Ezekial Williamson (Jerome) 27–2, Jr. (Dec 3–2)

1st Place – Pete Bradshaw of Challis
2nd Place – Austin Ford of Bonneville
3rd Place – Tazyn Twiss of Minico
3rd Place Match
Tazyn Twiss (Minico) 31–7, Fr. over Cedar Miller (Kuna) 4–2, Jr. (Dec 5–1)

1st Place – Sullivan Andrus of Bonneville
2nd Place – Jade Barendregt of Minico
3rd Place – Wyett Olson of Pocatello
1st Place Match
Sullivan Andrus (Bonneville) 32–4, Sr. over Jade Barendregt (Minico) 31–8, Sr. (Dec 4–2)

1st Place – Nathan Sargent of Blackfoot
2nd Place – Fernando Luna of Jerome
3rd Place – Tucker Heindel of Kuna
1st Place Match
Nathan Sargent (Blackfoot) 39–0, Sr. over Fernando Luna (Jerome) 31–6, Jr. (Fall 1:06)

1st Place – George Barrera of Borah
2nd Place – Juan Ruiz of Minico
3rd Place – Cristian Reyes of Borah
1st Place Match
George Barrera (Borah) 27–1, Sr. over Juan Ruiz (Minico) 12–3, Sr. (Fall 2:13)